Aside

I can’t imagine the trauma of having to watch my son, be beaten and forced to carry a heavy cross with a crowd of people clamoring all around. And then to witness him being impaled, his beautiful skillful hands being nailed to a crude piece of wood. His feet nailed to the other piece of wood. Traumatic and horrific.

When the Angel of the Lord came to Mary and told her she had been chosen, could she have known that it would lead to this intense moment?  The movies depicting the crucifixion show the sky growing dark, thunder and lightning. Surely, how could it not. The King of Glory became the sacrificial Lamb for all of mankind’s sin. Certainly the days following this were deflated. If I were Mary Magdalene I’m sure I  would’ve been heavy with grief unable to make sense of anything.

What utter joy must’ve sprung from her heart to see the angel at his tomb and to have him tell her that Jesus had risen and was alive and well.  However, I can’t  imagine remaining in my own skin, with Jesus himself coming back in person, to see us.

One day, every believer will enter heavens gates. One day we will look into the eyes of our Saviour and somehow be able to do it. Supernatural phenomenon cannot be adequated explained by man because it is beyond our finite minds, but we have so much awesomeness to look forward to. God is incredible, I’ve already seen a glimpse, and I’m looking forward to all of His glory and majesty. Hallelujah!

I Can’t Imagine It

Leave a comment